Two names have now been announced for the upcoming federal election in October.

The Algoma-Manitoulin-Kapuskasing riding or electoral district now has a pair of official candidates representing two of the parties.

Since becoming reformed to its current district back in 2004, there have only been two incumbents to be elected members of parliament, first Brent St. Denis of the Liberal Party from 2004 through 2008 and since New Democrat Carol Hughes has held the role for the past decade plus.

Hughes will once again be running for re-election as she made official back in mid-March.

Meanwhile, the Conservative Party of Canada has now announced Dave Williamson, CAO for the Town of Northeastern Manitoulin and Islands, as their candidate in the upcoming federal election.

Aside from these two candidates, no other party including the Liberals has named a candidate for the election in Algoma-Manitoulin-Kapuskasing.