Listen Live
HomeNewsFire Ban Placed On Multiple Municipalities Along Highway 11

Fire Ban Placed On Multiple Municipalities Along Highway 11

A fire ban has now been placed on multiple municipalities along the Highway 11 corridor.

The Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry Spokesperson Isabelle Chenard says from Smooth Rock Falls through to Hearst, all municipalities are under a restricted fire zone.

The MNRF says at this time there are 66 active forest fires in Northeastern Ontario with 40 being held or under control and 26 not yet under control.

Chenard says during a fire ban or restricted fire zone an open fire such as campfires or burning brush and debris is restricted and failing to follow the rules can result in fines up to $25,000 and three months in jail.

- Advertisement -

She says portable gas or propane stoves are permitted to be used for cooking or even for warmth but must be closely monitored, and portable charcoal barbecues are not permitted unless within 100 metres of a campground.

Chenard says the restriction is used to reduce the amount of human-caused wildfires at a time when the risk for such has increased.

The MNRF has stated they expect the temporary measure to continue however into the foreseeable future.

For more details on the current ongoing fires and to track them, as well as the forest fire warning system, go here.

If you wish to report any outdoor fires during a restricted fire zone go here.

MNRF Restricted Fire Zone Map Photo Supplied by Moonbeam Fire Department
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading