Two grade 12 students from District School Board Ontario North East have been named student trustee members.

Both Jaykob Walton from Timmins High and Vocational School and Aiza Asif from Iroquois Falls Secondary School were elected by their peers to represent the student body.

Board Chair Doug Shearer says the students will come to and participate in the regular board meetings.

He says having the student’s opinion on how the board’s decisions could affect them is really important.

Shearer says he is excited to work with the students throughout the year.

(Written By: Mackenzie Read)